PARROT FISH TIKKA BIRYANI

 

Fish Biryani Plated

Biryani or Biriani…just saying it- or in this case writing it, evokes all kinds of mushy,feel good emotions in me.
I love all kinds of Biryani, and believe me there are lots… At least 40 variants from different corners of the world. Right,here in Kenya, Biryani is mostly consumed at the Coast and by the large Indo- Kenyan community. Biryani has Persian roots and was brought to our Kenyan coast during the slave trade when the locals inter-married with the Arab traders, the Indians had on the other hand been exposed to it in their own country and added their own twist to it, so you can imagine once the Swahili and  the Indians who were mostly railway construction workers melded their cuisine there emerged what can only be described as a tantalising coming together of culture.

Every household has their own way of making this awesome dish, influenced by their cultural backgrounds and not to mention their own distinct palate. What I am trying to say is that there is no right or wrong way and I am happy to  try them all.

My friend Chef Eddy Oloo Uduny suggested this recipe…of course I added my own touch to it, but the idea was his and his plate was such a tease seeing as he posted it to our Facebook group,the same week I was on a cleanse, but I bookmarked it for when I could finally make it.

Today being Good Friday was the best day to make this,I can tell you that everyone at home was in agreement,if the pile of fishbones and licked clean plates is anything to go by.

I chose Parrot fish for this dish,but you can use any fish that you fancy

All cleaned up and ready for the marinade

All cleaned up and ready for the marinade

 

I get my seafood and fish from City Market and I used 3 medium sized Fish to feed 6

Marinating fish

Isn’t that beautiful?

Marinate the fish for at least an hour and then deep fry

Fry Fry Fry

Fry Fry Fry

 

Drain well and serve along side the Biryani rice, some Kachumbari and a nice cold drink

All Drained up

All Drained up

INGREDIENTS:

For the Marinade:
1tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp  Tandoori Masala
3 Tbsp lemon juice
¼ cup plain yogurt
1/2 tsp cayenne powder (more or less according to your taste)
Salt to taste
DIRECTIONS:
In a mixing bowl mix all ingredients of marinade well. Now toss in the chicken and coat well. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour but not more than 3 hours or the fish will ‘cook’ and disintegrate.
Heat some oil and deep fry until done.
Drain well  and serve

Please try this recipe and lemme know what you think.

With lotsa love

IMG_1403

5 thoughts on “PARROT FISH TIKKA BIRYANI

  1. Pingback: PLAIN BIRYANI RICE | GOOD EATS|GOOD LIVING

  2. Pingback: Mutton Biriani | GOOD EATS|GOOD LIVING

Talk to me: